Soil and Water Conservation Conference

My name is Al Hargrove and I’m a Records Management Analyst II in the Division of Archives and Records, Government Records. I had the opportunity to speak at the Department of Agriculture’s annual Conservation Employee Training Conference for both state and county Soil and Water Conservation employees, which was held in Greensboro on August 15, 2012.

The topic for my session was “Document Retention and Records Management.” I discussed at length the North Carolina laws governing the responsibilities of my department, General Statute 121, and the state’s public records law, General Statute 132. I also addressed the confidentiality of some public records; how to properly maintain e-mail; how we appraise the value of public records for disposition purposes; and the importance of having current records schedules, policies, and procedures in place for managing the public records in their custody.

My talk was well received by the conference attendees and they demonstrated a sincere desire to improve the managing of the records in their offices.

